Home:  >The Library    >Novels
Previous Novel A Fable
The Town:
The Mansion Next Novel

Search Faulkner Sites

Use this box to search for documents in this and other Faulkner-related Web sites.

Custom Search

Books for sale at

The following editions of The Town are available for purchase online:

The Town (Vintage Paperback Edition) The Town

Vintage books


ISBN: 0394701844

Published 1973

The Snopes Trilogy (Modern Library) Snopes: The Hamlet, The Town, The Mansion

Modern Library


ISBN: 0679600922

Published 1991

Novels, 1957-1962 Novels, 1957-1962: The Town, The Mansion, The Reivers

Library of America


ISBN: 1883011698

Published 1999

Published May 1, 1957, by Random House.

Volume 2 of the “Snopes” trilogy, The Town continues the exploits of Flem Snopes where The Hamlet left off. Flem moves from Frenchman’s Bend to Jefferson, where he begins an ambitious attempt to take over the town, securing a job at the power plant and later a position at the bank, and planning to avenge his wife’s infidelity.

Faulkner incorporated two previously published short stories into the novel. “Centaur in Brass” (first published in American Mercury in February 1932) became Chapter 1, and “Mule in the Yard” (published in Scribner’s in August 1934) became Chapter 16.

The novel is narrated by three characters: Gavin Stevens, Charles “Chick” Mallison, and V. K. Ratliff. The plot covers a period from 1909, when Flem, his wife Eula, and Eula’s daughter (and Flem’s step-daughter) Linda arrive in Jefferson, to about a year after Eula kills herself in 1927.

Previous Novel A Fable The Mansion Next Novel

Top of Page

How to cite this page (MLA style):

Padgett, John B. “The Town: Commentary.” William Faulkner on the Web.

This page was last modified on Thursday, June 26, 2008, at 05:18 AM CDT.
Copyright © 1995 – 2008 by John B. Padgett.
Number of hits to 'The Town' pages