Home:  >The Library    >Short Stories

Short Story Collections:

Collected Stories of William Faulkner

New York: Random House, 1950.
Vintage Books, 1977.
900 pages.


This first “complete” collection of Faulkner stories was supervised by Faulkner himself, who came up with the themed section headings.


Note: Title links lead to more detailed bibliographical and publication information on each work, not to the work itself.

Table of Contents

The Country

Barn Burning

Shingles for the Lord

The Tall Men

A Bear Hunt

Two Soldiers

Shall Not Perish

 The Village

A Rose for Emily


Centaur in Brass

Dry September

Death Drag


Mule in the Yard

That Will Be Fine

That Evening Sun

The Wilderness

Red Leaves

A Justice

A Courtship


The Wasteland

Ad Astra




All the Dead Pilots

The Middle Ground



Dr. Martino

Fox Hunt

Pennsylvania Station

Artist at Home

The Brooch

My Grandmother Millard

Golden Land

There Was a Queen

Mountain Victory



Black Music

The Leg


Divorce in Naples




Books for sale at

Collected Stories of William Faulkner Collected Stories of William Faulkner

Edited by Erroll McDonald

First published: 1950

Vintage Books

Paperback (1995)

ISBN: 0679764038

Other Faulkner Story Collections:

Uncollected Stories of William FaulknerUncollected Stories of William Faulkner

Edited by Joseph Blotner

First published: 1979

Vintage Books

Paperback (1997)

ISBN: 0375701095

Random House

Hardcover (1983)

ISBN: 0394400445

Big Woods: The Hunting Stories Big Woods: The Hunting Stories

First published: 1955

Vintage Books

Paperback (1994)

ISBN: 0679752528

Big Woods (Illustrated Edition)Big Woods: The Hunting Stories

Illustrated by Brett Smith

Wilderness Adventure Press

Paperback (1996)

ISBN: 1885106408

Knight's Gambit Knight’s Gambit: Six Mystery Stories

First published: 1949

Vintage Books

Paperback (1987)

ISBN: 0394727290

Three Famous Short NovelsThree Famous Short Novels

First published: 1958

Vintage Books

Paperback (1961)

ISBN: 0394701496

The Portable FaulknerThe Portable Faulkner

Edited by Malcolm Cowley

First published: 1946

Viking Press

Paperback (1977)

ISBN: 0140150188

New Orleans SketchesNew Orleans Sketches

Edited by Carvel Collins

First published: 1958

University Press of Mississippi

Paperback (2002)

ISBN: 1578064716



Top of Page

How to cite this page (MLA style):

Padgett, John B. “Short Story Collections: Collected Stories of William Faulkner.” William Faulkner on the Web. 17 August 2006. 24 August 2017 <http://www.mcsr.olemiss.edu/~egjbp/faulkner/ r_ssb-cs.html >.

This page was last modified on Thursday, August 17, 2006, at 03:20 PM CDT.
Copyright © 1995 – 2006 by John B. Padgett.
Number of hits to this page